I’m using Lightroom Classic with TTG Backlight Publisher and JPEGmini Lightroom plug-ins latest version (4.2.0.3).
JPEGmini is installed and activated correctly, and it appears at the bottom of the TTG Publish Service settings as a post-process action.
Does TTG Publisher support JPEGmini 4.x as a Lightroom post-process action during publishing, or does TTG bypass Lightroom post-process actions when generating/uploading renditions?
@Ben will have to answer definitively, but if I remember correctly, our export plugin bypasses the standard export pipeline. Typically, Lightroom either succeeds or fails the entire export job; a failure on image 99 of a 100 image job means having to re-publish the entire 100 images. Our plugin allows you to pick up from the point of failure, without having to do the entire job again. The price we pay for that is not being able to utilize other plugins during the export.
Hi @BobL, further from Matt’s comment, this became problematic when trying to export multiple renditions for each photo. To do this we needed to programatically tell the Publisher to create renditions. This differs from the default way of LR plugins looping around a single rendition. It appears that LR’s automatic loop also calls other plugins. There isn’t as far as I know a programmatic way for us to restore this missed behaviour.
I haven’t thought about this in a long time so my recollections are vague. It may in theory be possible to use the default mechanism for users who have configured their sites to use Master renditions. Out of interest, do you use that setting? (Note that changing it won’t fix the issue of plugins being bypassed with the Publisher as it is now).
I don’t believe I’m using Master renditions, unless you mean publishing directly from a raw file. My Kookaburra album template is set to Photos 1600 × 1600, and I’m publishing directly from RAW files through TTG Publisher. Where would I check whether Master renditions are enabled?
In Backlight’s Settings page, there’s an option in the Publisher section, “Publish Master Renditions from Lightroom”.
If disabled, Lightroom creates each photo rendition (photo, thumbnail, etc.) If enabled, Lightroom sends only a single “master” image file, and Backlight creates the renditions.