Installing BL 4: Dashboard doesn't look format correct

I have my old site still running, so installed backlight in /backlight.

Home page looks correct and is found at Home - Reid J. Thaler Photography

Trying to access dashboard at Backlight but looks like like some unformatted list, which I can post a screen shot of.

Not sure if I should be trying to access via local host, but tried different variations (localhost/backlight, localhost/backlight/backlight) but get 404

Trying to get with the program after resisting for 6 years. Struggling. I’m not a programmer.

(Just tried to send this post and get an error saying I can’t embed media items in a post, so why is the option available…)

Help please.

Reid

It looks like you installed your site in a folder named “backlight”
If you’re creating a test site, then use a different name, like “test”

Otherwise, the backlight/ folder from your unzipped download goes directly in the root of your site, not inside a folder named “backlight” (Backlight looks for its resources in the backlight/ folder so putting your site in a folder named “backlight” confuses things)

You should be able to post screenshots now. I updated your user status to basic user from new user

Ok, I got this running by going Home - Reid J. Thaler Photography

Localhost didn’t work.

When I want to migrate my test site, what do I need to do since the links will point to the /bt folder and not the root folder?

Is there a link to show the additional features is BL 5 (vs BL 4?)

Thanks,

Reid

Mainly change the Site URL in Settings.

and a bit more on migrating a test site
Moving your development site to your production site - TTG Tips and Tricks

Take a look at blog posts starting here
https://blog.theturninggate.net/2022/08/10/backlight-5-is-now-available/

Thanks. I think the last thing is the Publisher. I have a plug in for Lightroom that I’ve installed, but need the publisher to upload to the test site via FTP.