VPS needed or not?

I just received this message from my web hosting service:

Our administrators have detected that the website regularly receives CPU faults and also I / O faults (see below).
errors

It can be due to many reasons, malware / viruses / bots / unoptimized scripts / heavy images etc.

When these spikes occur, it means that your visitors cannot access the website properly (for example, they may experience huge load times or a complete inability to open the site). It also exhausts the system and can endanger other users.

In this regard, it is extremely important that we resolve the issue as soon as possible.

They go on suggesting I subscribe to a VPS at a much greater cost to me, as much as 4 times what I am paying.
Being self-taught (with a lot of help from Ben, Rod and Matthew), not only don’t I grasp fully what is happening, I don’t know what to do.

Any ideas?

first make sure the email is actually from your host. I’ve gotten emails that were from “Bluehost” but looking at the actual email address, it had nothing to do with Bluehost. It was just a scam.

I checked, and it is really from my host. They’ve been “upgrading” my backup plan, twice in the last year and now this.

In the past, I’ve had several hosts attempt to upsell me into additional, prohibitively expensive services with similar messaging. Having had a sense of my website’s traffic, I believe they were trying to scam me, else I was being slammed with incomprehensible numbers of bots.

Consider what your website is: Backlight is lightweight, and you’re serving static images. You’re not running an enterprise application.

I would put some effort into optimizing your image sizes. As I’ve said before, I like to run my images through JPEGmini before uploading them to Backlight.

Beyond that, any additional effort I’d make would be in finding a better host.